THE GOLDEN GATE
The golden gate was one of the main
structures built by Yaroslav in 1037. Cut into the rampart, it
measured 6.4 meters, which was wide enough for a triumphal entry.
The "golden" part of its name emphasized the triumphal
character of the gate and also referred to the golden cupola of
the Church of the Annunciation which was built over it.
The gate, destroyed during Batyi Khan's
invasion was not reconstructed, but travellers who visited Kyiv
in the 16th-17th centuries left descriptions and sketches of the
ruins with the remains of the church. A century later what remained
of the gate was levelled to the ground, and it was only in 1832
that archaeologists unearthed it, and it became a sensation. The
gate was put in order, reinforced and opened to view. Its picturesque
ruins could be seen up until recently.
For the preparations for the celebration
of Kyiv's 1500th anniversary a group of specialists reconstructed
it in its original for-the way it looked nearly a millennium ago.
In 1983 the Golden Gate became a museum.
Kiev, a Guide
Novosti Publishers, 1991